Kira's Puppy Mill Journey

Kira, a rescued puppy mill collie, on her road to recovery.

Kira plays!!! And goes to the groomer!

Leave a comment

As soon as I update Kira’s blog, she always does something amazing! On Friday evening, she all of a sudden just stepped off the porch and started playing with Obi and Mocha – as if it was the most natural thing in the world for her!!! I’m talking all out playing….running full speed, rolling in the grass, play bows, bouncing, jumping over Mocha, darting in and out. She played for a full 4-5 MINUTES and then went back under the porch steps and acted as if nothing had happened! I was speechless. It was so amazing!!

She did it again the next day and I was able to catch a short video, which you can see here:

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=1520012451545577

Kira also went to be groomed this weekend.  I was very nervous about how she would do, but she is a collie and grooming is not optional.  I took a “Through a Dog’s Ear“, a CD of calming music that I play when I leave the house each day and I gave her double her daily dose of Composure Pro calming treats.   I went to a friend who has her grooming station in her home and who has a lot of experience in grooming fearful dogs.  She said we would go as slow as we needed to go.  She spent a little over 2 hours bathing, trimming, and grooming her and she did well!     A couple of times Kira hid her head under my arm when she got overwhelmed, but she didn’t panic at any point.   Her least favorite part was nail clipping and having her tail touched.   She did surprisingly well with the dryer.     Here are some pictures:

Bath time

Bath time

Kira at groomer

Kira at groomer

Clean and fresh!

Clean and fresh!

Author: repoleon

I have been so fortunate to share my life with so many amazing dogs. I hope that by sharing the story of one of those dogs - Kira - I can raise awareness about the issue of puppy mills. https://kirapuppymilljourney.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

